Posted by: kris10ly | April 16, 2010

Are you LinkedIn?

Whether you are LinkedIn or not, this is a must read post for you. It includes tips about how to create a professional profile as well as helpful ways to manage it.

On Wed., April 7, 2010 I attended the “Launch Your Career Using LinkedIn” workshop conducted by Dorsey Baldwin, Assistant Director of Employment, from the Office of Career Services at Georgia Southern University.

Before we go any further, it is important to understand what the purpose is of LinkedIn. Here is the LinkedIn definition Mrs. Baldwin provided: “LinkedIn is the world’s largest professional network with over 60 million members and growing rapidly. LinkedIn connects you to your trusted contacts and helps you exchange knowledge, ideas, and opportunities with a broader network of professionals.”

LinkedIn Logo

Do you know what it takes to create a professional LinkedIn profile? No need to worry, it is easy as one, two, three. All you need to do is to follow these 5 Golden Rules:

The 5 Golden Rules of Professional LinkedIn Profiles:

1. Fill out your profile to 100% completion

  • Photo
  • Headline
  • Keyword-rich summary
  • All experience

2. Join relevant groups
3. Claim your custom URL
4. Request Recommendations
5. Keep your profile up-to-date

The following three steps go into more detail about the 5 Golden Rules. Once you have completed these steps you will be on your way to becoming a professional!

STEP 1: Present Yourself—Build Your Profile

  • Tell your story

Think of your profile as an interactive business card. You have the opportunity to network with individuals all over the world. In your profile you want to describe your summer jobs, internships, volunteer positions, or personal passions.

Did you know? A LinkedIn profile is 40 times more likely to get seen by employers, and increases your chances for an employment offer.

STEP 2: Get Connected

  • Join groups and send invites

You have a network, now find a group to join that is relevant to you (i.e.- if you graduated from Georgia Southern University, you can join the “Georgia Southern University Alumni and Friends”). Next, connect with your extended family, family friends, family of your friends, friends, professors, current or former employers, etc. Tell them about your degree and the opportunities you are looking for.

Something to think about. A degree alone won’t land you a job. But a network of people who can recommend you is invaluable when looking for that next opportunity.

This leads us to the third and final step…

STEP 3: Recommendations

  • Ask employers, professors, classmates, etc. to write a recommendation for you

Recommendations will help you to gain credibility. It gives you the opportunity to stand out from everyone else and provides employers with an impression of who you are in the workplace. Try to obtain recommendations for each position listed in your profile in order to represent consistency in character.

Responses

  1. I really enjoyed looking through this post. I have just recently been introduced to linkedin and created my first account a few months back. Now I am addicted! It is such a great sight to find contacts especially now that I am getting ready to graduate. In my advertising class last semester there was a group who did their entire presentation over linkedin and how it worked. Whoever came up with the idea for this site had to be someone in the public relations field that knew how important it was to have contacts. Your post was great and gave me even more information I did not know about before. Great job, keep up the good work!

  2. […] https://kris10ly.wordpress.com/2010/04/16/are-you-linkedin/#comment-21 […]

  3. The information in this post is great. I created a profile on LinkedIn for class, but I do not know much about it or what to do with it. I know it is a great site for my resume and getting myself out there in the world of business. I had no idea that there were groups to join. My connections are at a very low number, but now I am going to work to make that number higher. After reading your post I want to go back and edit, upgrade, and search groups and connections. Thanks for the helpful tips!

  4. […] Are you LinkedIn? by Kristen: The information in this post is great. I created a profile on LinkedIn for class, but I do not know much about it or what to do with it. I know it is a great site for my resume and getting myself out there in the world of business. I had no idea that there were groups to join. My connections are at a very low number, but now I am going to work to make that number higher. After reading your post I want to go back and edit, upgrade, and search groups and connections. Thanks for the helpful tips! […]

  5. […] Are you LinkedIn? by Kristen: The information in this post is great. I created a profile on LinkedIn for class, but I do not know much about it or what to do with it. I know it is a great site for my resume and getting myself out there in the world of business. I had no idea that there were groups to join. My connections are at a very low number, but now I am going to work to make that number higher. After reading your post I want to go back and edit, upgrade, and search groups and connections. Thanks for the helpful tips! […]

  6. Kristen, I loved reading this post on LinkedIn. I think we have all learned this semester the benefits that LinkedIn offers us as students as what it offers to professionals. I have never seen the 5 golden rules of LinkedIn before and I enjoyed learning about them. I agree that if you have a LinkedIn profile, like any social media profile, that you keep it up to date and current that way you can achieve the best results from networking!

  7. Kristen, I really enjoyed reading this post. Thanks to Barbara Nixon, I have known about the benefits of LinkedIn and been able to set up my account professionally and correctly. But I would the majority of students out there do not have a clue as to what LinkedIn even is. It is such a great tool for professionals of all types. I especially enjoy the recommendation aspect of the social networking website. It is like your own personal online resume that is available to anyone. When you type in my name and Public Relations it is one of the top 10 results that pop up.

  8. […] Kristen Kelly, Are you […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

