Posted by: kris10ly | March 12, 2010

Looking for Internship Advice? You’ve Found The Right Place.

Last summer I completed an internship with CNN Newsource in Atlanta. It is extraordinary how much information you can acquire and learn in such a short period of time. I trained in the five Newsource divisions, shadowed multiple departments throughout Turner and worked under many influential professionals who enthusiastically helped me network within the company. To top it off, I voluntarily participated in an extracurricular project tagged “Gen Y,” with a select group of fellow interns. My overall goal was to take advantage of the abundant amount of opportunities offered at Turner, and I can honestly say—I have achieved that and more.

The image below is a picture of our “Gen Y” intern group in front of CNN.

I can’t tell you how important an internship is. If you have the opportunity to take more than one, I highly recommend it. It is definitely in your best interest, especially since it’s so difficult in this economy to get a job right now.

Here are a few tips that I gained through my internship experience:

  • Take advantage of every opportunity. Don’t hesitate to ask questions. It is what you are supposed to do, because this is a learning experience for you. Show your internship advisor how much you care by getting involved in as much you can.
  • Take initiative. This shows your internship advisor how responsible and driven you are. They do not have time to baby-sit you and tell you what you should do next. It is up to you to figure out what you should do.
  • Build a portfolio. Keep up with everything you do during your internship. Make copies and combine all of your work into an organized portfolio.
  • Treat your internship like a job. You have the potential to get offered a job with the company or organization you are interning with. Consider it as a job interview or potential letter of recommendation.

Unlimited opportunities...

Andy Bibliowicz is a marketing major at the University of Georgia and had previously interned with me at CNN. I chose to interview him about his internship experience and asked him to provide any tips or advice he would like to share with others.

“Interviews and internships depend very much on the company, their initiatives, and the internship your applying for.” –Andy Bibliowicz

Andy’s tips for your internship interview:

  • Educate yourself about the company/organization.
  • Make sure your resume caters towards the internship you are applying for.
  • Highlight significant positions, such as leadership roles.

Andy had a recent interview with Altria, the parent company of PhilipMorris. Although Andy did not receive the internship, he made sure to call and ask what he could of done differently. He said, “The most significant advice I was given was to practice answering situational questions. Almost every, even significantly, large company will ask situational questions during their interview.”

The best advice Andy gave for practicing situational questions is, “Go to your college career center, and either go through a mock interview or get a list of common situational questions.”

Andy’s tips about what to do during your internship:

  • Always act professionally. Its never a bad idea to over dress, but under dressing can really hurt you.
  • Taking advantage of your internship is a must. From getting more information about the company, to meeting higher ups, being an intern allows you a lot of breezeway to do something you wouldn’t be able to do as an employee.
Responses

  1. I really enjoyed reading this post. I can definitely tell that you spend a lot of time on it and it shows! I liked how you grouped together the things that were alike and I really really liked the pictures! Your sources were extremely helpful as well! That is awesome that you got to intern with CNN, I live in Atlanta and drive by that building all the time and wonder what it would be like to work there! Did you end up getting a job offer from them? How was it interning for such a well know company?

  2. I couldn’t have said it better myself Kristen. Good job. Thats really cool how you got to intern at CNN this summer. I bet it was one heck of an experience not to mention a great resume builder. Andy Bibliowicz had a great idea about calling back the company after everything was said and done whether he got the internship or not. I’m definitely going to be implementing that one whenever I get a chance because it shows a willingness to learn even when you don’t succeed. He was also right about going through the mock interview because from experience they help out tremendously. The more practice you get the better you’ll do. Sounds cliche but hey its true.

  3. […] https://kris10ly.wordpress.com/2010/03/12/looking-for-internship-advice-youve-found-the-right-place/#… […]

  4. So neat that you interned at CNN, the relationships you created and the contacts you gained I bet are am amazing. That is interesting that you talk about doing more than one internship. I just think always at least doing one will suffice, but your reasons why doing more than one is important, are true. Thanks for suggesting that. I hesitate to ask questions when on the job or in training because I’m always afraid I am asking too many, but your right, it is what I am suppose to do because it is MY learning experience. Building a portfolio is a great suggestion as well. I started working on mine a while back. Although it is not from an actual internship (it’s clippings/articles/columns) from the newspaper I work for, having examples of your work is a great way to interest the employer and back up your word.


Leave a Reply

Categories

